Arts and Humanities

Our giving in the Arts and Humanities includes theater, dance, music, visual arts, film and other multidisciplinary art forms, as well as organizations that promote the humanities. We focus on nonprofits that have deep, meaningful impact and can demonstrate the depth and breadth of their local initiatives. The Foundation examines how access to the Arts and Humanities for diverse populations is created and how unique opportunities are provided for all ages to engage. In addition to more traditional approaches, we believe in the power of the Arts and Humanities to be innovative and create social change.

At our Fall Board of Directors’ Meeting in October 2017, The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation awarded 128 grants for a total of $6,694,000. Below is a list of our recent grantees who applied for a grant between March 2, 2017 and July 5, 2017. Please visit our Annual Report Page for a full list of Cafritz grantees.  Below is a list of our recent grantees in this program area.


Organization Name

Amount


The Choral Arts Society of Washington www.choralarts.org

$40,000

General support.

The Shakespeare Theatre Company www.shakespearetheatre.org

$65,000

$65,000 as a 1:1 match for general support.

The Washington Ballet www.washingtonballet.org

$100,000

General support.

Theater Alliance of Washington DC, Inc. www.theateralliance.com

$15,000

General support.

$15,000

General support.

$40,000

General support.

Washington Improv Theater www.witdc.org

$20,000

General support.

Washington Performing Arts www.washingtonperformingarts.org

$100,000

General support.

Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts www.wolftrap.org

$35,000

For the Institute for Early Learning Through the Arts.

Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company www.woollymammoth.net

$75,000

$50,000 outright for general support and $25,000 as a 2:1 match to support the leadership transition.