Education

The Foundation’s Education docket invests in learning from cradle to career. It includes schools that provide early childhood education, kindergarten through twelfth-grade instruction and undergraduate and graduate institutions. The Foundation also looks for models that provide comprehensive services to help students improve academic success and future employment outcomes. This may include charter and private schools, college access programs, groups focusing on teacher and school leader training, as well as certain supportive scholarship programs. In addition, the Foundation invests in adult basic education, literacy programs and preparation and testing for the General Equivalency Diploma.

The Foundation’s grants related to workforce development largely reflect two types of organizations: those that focus on a specific field and help individuals on a career pathway or those that concentrate on broader job- and career-readiness.

 

At our Spring Board of Directors’ Meeting in March 2019, The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation awarded 134 grants for a total of $5,864,550. Below is a list of our recent grantees who applied for a grant between July 3, 2018 and November 1, 2018. Please visit our Annual Report Page for a full list of Cafritz grantees. Below is a list of our recent grantees in this program area.

 

 

Organization Name

Amount

LearnServe International www.learn-serve.org

$35,000

General support.

Life Pieces to Masterpieces, Inc. www.lifepieces.org

$20,000

General support.

Literacy Council of Montgomery County, Maryland http://www.literacycouncilmcmd.org

$35,000

General support.

Monument Academy Public Charter School http://www.monumentacademy.org

$50,000

To support the implementation and sharing of the new social emotional curriculum, Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) Skills in schools.

New Leaders www.newleaders.org

$50,000

General support for operations in Washington, DC.

Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children http://louriecenter.org

$35,000

General support to assist with the expansion of therapeutic early childhood program into Prince George�s County.

See Forever/Maya Angelou Public Charter School http://www.seeforever.org

$50,000

General support.

Teaching for Change www.teachingforchange.org

$35,000

For the Tellin' Stories Project.

The Fishing School http://www.fishingschool.org

$40,000

General support.

The News Literacy Project https://newslit.org/

$25,000

To support NewsLitCamps� in the Washington, DC area.