Go Back to Archive

16th Annual Cafritz Awards


Now in its 16th year, The Morris & Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation Awards for Distinguished DC Government Employees were created to honor the best in public service by the District’s municipal workers.

When the Cafritz Awards were established in 2000, the Foundation wanted to shine a light on the contributions of extraordinary government employees. We hoped to let the public know about these outstanding individuals and also to send a message to other excellent government employees that their dedication and considerable ” said Calvin Cafritz, President and CEO.

The 2017 winners are:

Reena Chakraborty
Supervisory Statistician/Chief of Strategic Planning and Analysis
Management Support Division
Department of Corrections


Theresa P. Donaldson-DePass
Program Director (retired)
Mental Health Services Division
Department of Behavioral Health


Rahim Jenkins
Administrative Officer
Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services


Laverne Plater
Nurse Consultant
Department of Behavioral Health/Saint Elizabeths Hospital



Paul Taylor
Recreation Specialist/Site Lead
Department of Parks and Recreation


In honor of the 15th celebration of the Cafritz Awards, a Team Innovation award was added. The Team Innovation Award is designed to honor the achievements of work units, groups, or teams in one or multiple DC Government agencies. Teams must demonstrate that they are able to develop and implement an ongoing customer-focused initiative that drives innovation in the public sector and produces measurable and sustainable results.

2017 Team Winner:


Team: Medicaid Enrollment Team
DC Office on Aging/Department of Health Care Finance


Team Members:

  • Sara Tribe Clark
  • Gerald (Jerry) Kasunic
  • Lourdine Jean-Francois
  • Dominique Vinson
  • Katrice Jefferson
  • Shante Trumpet
  • Becky Hazlett
  • Mia Butler
  • Mary Devasia
  • Jennifer (Jenna) Crawley 



The awards program is administered by the Center for Excellence in Municipal Management at George Washington University. For more information about program history, selection criteria and nomination process go to www.cafritzawards.org.




Upcoming Deadline!

Proposals are due on
Friday, November 1st
by 5:00 pm.

Apply for a Grant